Next surgery???

Well, I went to my big appointment where I saw my neurologist, neurosurgeon and infectious disease doctor. My neurologist said things are going well with the increased Keppra, so we will keep that up. As long as I don’t have a cluster of them. The potential of having a grand mal seizure is there but even if I end up having one it is still ok…scary stuff! But I think the Keppra is doing its job, I may have to take it for up to a year!!! But at least I am getting good results with such little medication.

My neurosurgeon and ID doc both want me to be off antibiotics for 2 months before we put the flap in. The flap will be made of PEEK plastic, not titanium as we thought. Doing some googling and sounds pretty hi-tech. So that will take us to March sometime. I’m okay with that, it gives me more time to build strength up and possibly be walking better by then.

I just have major issues with tone and spasticity . Hopefully we can get that straightened out. SOON. Like yesterday. Oy. I am to see my physiatrist next week to see if we can reduce the tone. Botox has been used to help, I hear…maybe they can save a little and inject my ||’s (the space between my eyebrows that look like elevens), haha!

So pray that my strength continues to grow, my walking improves and my tone/spasticity goes away. The meal train continues to a huge blessing for Jeffrey and Siena, mahalo nui for every meal, gift card, play date, visit and prayer sent in my behalf.

HE>i,
jewels

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Next surgery???

  1. Georgia K. Lewis says:

    Hi Julie,
    I’m so encouraged by your notes about your doctor visits. You are making such great progress and I am so very proud of you!! It appears that God is answering our prayers–maybe not so much in our time frame as in His. He is your rock and your strength and you CAN do all things through Him who strengthens you. I enjoyed seeing Siena last Sunday. She is so pretty and she loves her mommy and daddy so much. Keep on pushing Jewels, you’re getting there. Remember, YOU ARE LOVED!
    Georgia.

  2. Toni says:

    Hey Girl~
    Ditto what Georgia said. You amaze me! Keep working hard in your PT/OT sessions. Know you are loved, appreciated, missed and thought of daily. I know you’d rather not be there, but your can-do and ‘always thinking of others’ attitude help with the day to day…minute to minute…along with your reliance on God for His continued strength.

    I pray that you can get more rest during the night…that the muscles will stop being so obnoxious with their spasms. I pray that your pain has a purpose, even tho it sucks. Praying for a massage therapist to come and give you a great massage (of course if it is ok with the drs.). Maybe someone can give her a pedi while visiting?!?!?!? See you not this week, but the next, Lord willing!

    Love you Gurl!

  3. diane mosier says:

    Wow, thanks for the update….so glad to hear that the medication is working for your seizures….that was pretty scary when I was there and actually saw one…..you knew something was wrong, just took the doctors a little while more to understand what you were going thru. Sounds like you will get really strong before your surgery…..that will be a big blessing. Keep it up Julie….you are an amazing person…bet you didn’t know what you were really made of, did you?! Save some of that botox for when I come…haha! Love you, diane

  4. bdbeachy says:

    Hang in there Girl! I will keep praying for healing and strength to take over your body. Bring your kingdom Jesus.

Leave a comment